Innovation in WHS Award

In partnership with:



The Innovation in WHS Award acknowledges and recognises a positive contribution of an individual or organisation towards improving work health and safety in an innovative way. 

Innovation includes the practical implementation of ideas that results in a new or improved way of managing or tackling a WHS hazard or issue, or a new or novel means of achieving a positive WHS outcome or WHS performance.  

The ‘innovation’ can be from any aspect of WHS including related to management and leadership, systems and processes, plant and equipment, science and technology, buildings and property, communication and engagement, or other aspects of WHS improvement. 


The selection criteria for this award include the following:  

  1. The nature and features of the innovation and its relevance or usefulness to WHS. 
  2. Attributes of the design, development, implementation, monitoring, review and improvement of the WHS innovation.  
  3. The benefit or improvement in WHS that the innovation addresses or achieves, including potential benefits or broader industry or general application.   


Entry to this award is open to all individuals, businesses and undertakings that operate in Western Australia, including the corporate, government, not-for-profit and community sectors.  

Individuals and business entities being nominated for this award must provide written permission for the nomination and for its use in WHS Foundation promotional materials.   


Submissions must include a clear written summary addressing the selection criteria below. (Up to 500 words in MS Word or PDF). However, to compliment the written submission, applicants are encouraged to also submit a short video (max 3 minutes) and additional supporting material including: documents, photographs, video / audio, web links or other relevant information with their submission     


A judging panel comprising 3 to 5 judges will qualitatively assess applications against the criteria above and select a short list of award finalists. One winner from the shortlisted finalists will be determined that, in the opinion of the judging panel, best demonstrates achievement of the award category and criteria.  


Finalists will be notified in advance of the award ceremony. The winner will be announced at the award ceremony on Saturday 14 October 2023 at the gala event at the Astral Ballroom, Crown Perth. 

Entry form


Organisation Address(Required)


You may enter more than one category. Please submit separate applications.
Submission of Evidence for Selected Category(Required)
Note: If you are entering for multiple awards, please submit separate applications.
Please check the award criteria and address it accordingly
Please check the award criteria and address it accordingly
Please check the award criteria and address it accordingly
Please provide the link or links to the cloud document (only .doc or .pdf accepted) or email.
Please provide the link or links to your online video (e.g. Youtube or Vimeo)


Contact Details(Required)
Judging may occur after working hours