Leadership in WHS Award

In partnership with:

Australian Institute of Health & Safety (AIHS)


The Leadership in WHS Award acknowledges and recognises a positive contribution of an individual who, or a leadership team that, demonstrates outstanding leadership to influence and effect positive WHS improvement in their workplace.  

Leadership is critically important for the planning, implementation and achievement of any business goal or objective. This naturally extends to ensuring effective work health and safety.    

The WHS legislation includes a positive ‘due diligence’ duty for the most senior leaders in businesses and undertakings to effectively demonstrate WHS leadership. This new duty recognises the importance of leadership in WHS legal compliance and in ensuring the health and safety of work.  

However, leadership for WHS is not limited to the most senior leaders but is relevant at all levels of an organisation to actively plan, promote, engage, and communicate about WHS.   


The selection criteria for this award include the following:  

  1. The nature of the leadership position, or leadership team, the nature of the workplace in which they work, and the responsibility for leading related to WHS.  
  2. Personal, and or team, attributes, behaviour and actions of the leader, or leadership team, directed toward improvement of WHS in the workplace.  
  3. The benefit or improvement in WHS that the leader, or leadership team, has assisted in achieving, including broader industry or general application.   


Entry to this award is open to all individuals and teams working for businesses and undertakings that operate in Western Australia, including the corporate, government, not-for-profit and community sectors, who are involved in leadership at any level that influences WHS.   

Individuals and business entities being nominated for this award must provide written permission for the nomination and for its use in WHS Foundation promotional materials.   


Submissions must include a clear written summary addressing the selection criteria below. (300 500 words in MS Word or PDF). However, to compliment the written submission, applicants are encouraged to also submit a short video (max 3 minutes) and additional supporting material including: documents, photographs, video / audio, web links or other relevant information with their submission     


A judging panel comprising 3 to 5 judges will qualitatively assess applications against the criteria above and select a short list of award finalists. One winner from the shortlisted finalists will be determined that, in the opinion of the judging panel, best demonstrates achievement of the award category and criteria.  


Finalists will be notified in advance of the award ceremony. The winner will be announced at the award ceremony on Saturday 14 October 2023 at the gala event at the Astral Ballroom, Crown Perth. 

Entry form


Organisation Address(Required)


You may enter more than one category. Please submit separate applications.
Submission of Evidence for Selected Category(Required)
Note: If you are entering for multiple awards, please submit separate applications.
Please check the award criteria and address it accordingly
Please check the award criteria and address it accordingly
Please check the award criteria and address it accordingly
Please provide the link or links to the cloud document (only .doc or .pdf accepted) or email.
Please provide the link or links to your online video (e.g. Youtube or Vimeo)


Contact Details(Required)
Judging may occur after working hours